

Department of Physical Education and Sports Altaf Memorial Govt. Degree College, Kilam NAAC Accredited

Dated: - 24/06/2023

Inter-College Cosco Cricket Tournament concluded today at AMGDC Kilam as GDC Tral won the title.

Inter-College Cricket Tournament concluded today at AMGDC Kilam as GDC Tral lifted the winning trophy. Fourteen (14) colleges from South Kashmir participated in the said event, which started on 15th of June 2023. In today's grand finale, GDC Tral locked their horns against GDC Dooru. GDC Dooru won the toss and decided to bowl first. On the toss ceremony, all the faculty members from all the colleges and the students of both the teams took a pledge against the drug abuse and drug menace and also pledged that we all will actively participate in games and sports.

Batting first, GDC Tral scored 98 runs in their stipulated fifteen (15) overs. Chasing the victory target of 99 runs, GDC Dooru could score 54 runs only. It was terrific bowling display from GDC Tral bowlers who rattled and crumbled the batting line-up of GDC Dooru. For GDC Tral, it was Shahid Ahmad who bowled superbly and took four (4) wickets in his three (3) overs. He also scored 11 runs for his side. Finally, Shahid Ahmad of GDC Tral was adjudged man of the match for his all-rounder performance. Imad Ahmad of GDC Tral was declared as man of the tournament for his valuable all-rounder performance. In the whole tournament, he scored 54 runs and also took 7 wickets.

On the closing ceremony, Worthy Principal madam of the host college AMGDC Kilam Prof. (Dr) Yasmeen Majid Khan delivered a brief lecture on importance of games and sports in our daily life and also appreciated and encouraged the teams for their participation. She also highlighted that winning or losing hardly matters, what matters is the participation of students in these events. Closing ceremony was also graced by the worthy Principals of GDC Tral Prof. Shakeel Ahmad Khanday and GDC Dooru Prof. (Dr) Gh. Thakur by their presence. All the three principals presented the winners and runners-up trophies to the respective teams.











